Practice Expedition #1

I need to practice drawing the kinds of comics that I want to be able to draw, so I’ve dug out my old tramping diaries and I’m using them for material. They’re pretty good for this, cos I did write a lot of fairly detailed stuff that often didn’t have much to do with the actual route, which is easier to remember. Although I kept it fairly brief when writing by torchlight in a wet tent after a 13 hour day and then went on and on and on when we were having a pit day in a nice warm hut. The problem with drawing from text alone is that I’m relying a lot on my memory of how stuff looked – ideally I’d be drawing these comics in near enough to realtime. Keeping that in mind I’ve tried to be fairly quick about it all so they’re pretty rough. But! This is the point of this particular comic – to get heaps better. I haven’t really made comics in watercolour and ink before, so there are some basics I need to sort out. Also, because I’m so used to digital now I have to be okay with not having an undo button. It is quite freeing! By the way I am tremendously enjoying this obscenely expensive sketchbook I bought a couple of weeks ago. I can use both sides of the page and rub out pencil over and over again without making grubby holes.

notebook.png
Old Trusty the waterproof notebook

Anyway, this is a tramp I did 6 years ago with a good friend (Brian) and a guy I’d never met before (Matt) who must have been all right because I agreed to go bush with him for another week after this (and he is all right – he’s wonderful in fact!)

Things didn’t go quite according to plan so there was a lot of bumbling about before we actually got anywhere.

Just two pages for now – more on the way!

Scan 12Scan 13

Leave a Reply

